Social reading update + sites of the week

I joined Goodreads a few months ago to keep track of my reviews, other books I’ve read or wanted to read, and to keep tabs on what my peeps are reading. For months after I signed up I’ve only had one book listed. I received weekly e-mails saying (paraphrased), “*So-and-so* has read/added 3 books this week and you’ve added nothing of literary value.” Well, that may have been true but it wasn’t very fun to belong to a site that told me that I’m the least well-read out of my buddies week after week. So over the holiday I deleted my one book and unsubscribed from their stupid e-mail list I logged in and added some things I’ve read throughout the last year. There’s some actual content on my page now including a few reviews so hooray for that. My updated site can be found at goodreads.com/madelinewright.

If 2010 was the year of working on my fitness, 2011 is the year of writing. I do plan to stick with the not so random feats of fitness and work in some 10K, variable distance triathlons and other fun. Now I’ll be more inclined to write about them. To make room for that I’ve moved my monthly desktop wallpaper feature to my tumblog because that platform is better to showcase images and other short posts, IMO. But the downside is that Tumblr has had a lot of downtime lately, which is why I’m staying put on WP for my other content.

This week I came across a few links of note.

1) 2011 Blue Print from Suze Orman A month-by-month Financial Planning Guide to improve finances this year.

2) FoodPress The WordPress destination for food blogs. Lots of time was spent here as soon as I clicked on it so I thought this one was worth passing along.

3) //dailypost.wordpress.com/ The site that kicked off my 2011 goal to post something every week. It’s not too late to join if you’re so inclined.

That’s all for now. Try not to get hit by any dead birds falling from the sky. Especially if you’re in the southern US or Sweden.

About Madeline

a digital media pro w/ lots to learn. just the way i like it. i read, write, and do things to make my inner kid proud. host of "a mad vox" podcast. View all posts by Madeline

2 responses to “Social reading update + sites of the week

Leave a comment

Fit and Awesome

Running, Outdoors, Gluten Free, and Healthy Living Tips.

WordCamp Los Angeles 2017

September 29, 2017 ā€“ October 1, 2017

A Panda and a Book

Just me and my literary ramblings.

www.DIGECOMM.com

A little less talk. A lot more doing.

This Expat's Life

I love this place

WordCamp Los Angeles

September 5-7, 2014

Annette Berger

A little less talk. A lot more doing.

MIT Media Lab

Enabling technologies for expression, participation, and understanding.

nita's books

children's, middle grade, and young adult book reviews and other writing

a potter's pen

A little less talk. A lot more doing.

Transmedia Camp 101

Content Creation, Curation and Distribution in a Web 2.0 World

Anne Toole, writer

Learnings about writing for multiple media

Digital Pubbing

Exploring the ins and outs of the publishing industry

Not Rich Yet

It's going to happen. Gotta find something to do until then.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.